Setanta Cup Win 10 Years Ago

14th May 2022

10 years ago to the day Crusaders produced arguably their finest hour when they won the Setanta Cup Final at The Oval beating League of Ireland side Derry City 5-4 on penalties.after it ended 2-2 after extra time.

Crusaders where in dream land and fought their way to the final beating Bohemians in the Quarter Final 2-0 (0-0 at Seaview and 2-0 at Dalymount Patk) before beating Sligo Rovers 3-2 in the Semi Final (2-0 at Seaview and 1-2 at the Showgrounds Sligo) to set up the Final against Derry City on  12th May 2012.

The final only came alive in the last 10 minutes of the game with Rory Patterson scoring in the 80th minute before Colin Coates scored the equaliser five minutes later to set up extra time. In extra time Crusaders took the lead when Colin Coates agsin scored before Rory Patterson got his second of the game from the penalty spot six minutes later. The game went to penalties and of course as history now tells us Gareth McKeowns conversion sealed the win and set wild scenes of celebration amongst players and supporters of Crusaders as we lifted the trophy. Celebrations continued long into the night and the open topped bus parade along York Street and the Shore Road topped it all off.

What a day and what a night as the wee team from the Shore Road upset the might of “ All Ireland” and won the Setanta Cup.

Sean O'Neill. Stephen McBride, Paiul Leeman, David Magowan, Colin Coates, Chris Morrow, Timmy Adamson, David Rainey, Declan Caddell, Stuart Dallas, Aidan Watson, Gareth McKeown, Matthew Snoddy,  Ciaran Gargan. David Gibson, Michael Halliday, David McMaster, Ryan McCann..…You all are legends.